Exploring Biblical Love – Part 1

1 Corinthians 13:1-3
“If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.”

This passage clearly indicates that love is of the utmost importance. Unfortunately, when it comes to speaking the truth in love, Christians tend to put a lot more emphasis on speaking than loving. I once heard a pastor say, “If being right comes at the expense of love, the price is too high.” This insight is particularly pertinent to the mode of interaction between the Christian and LGBT communities. When Christians communicate their beliefs in such a way that LGBT individuals receive no inkling of God’s love, the cost is too great. The pastor also added that to speak God’s words without God’s love misrepresents Him to the Church and the world. As Christians, we must be aware that when we communicate the words of God without His heart, we cause damage. Let 1 Corinthians 13:1-3 serve as a reminder that if our actions are not saturated with Christ’s unconditional love, we are nothing!

Leave a Reply

